top of page

Denali and the Echoes of Gold

Percy Hope's Final Alaskan Adventure


The Klondike Gold Rush of 1896 set the stage for a series of adventures that continued well into the early 20th century, a theme masterfully captured in Neil Perry Gordon’s novel, "Denali - The Alaskan Adventures of Percy Hope, Book Three." This final installment of the Goldfield Trilogy follows the intrepid Percy Hope as he embarks on a new quest, weaving a tale that intertwines the legacy of the Klondike with the rugged wilderness of Alaska.

From the Lower East Side to Alaska's Peaks

The novel begins in 1901, with Percy venturing from New York City’s Lower East Side to the majestic landscapes of Alaska. His mission is deeply personal: to find his son, Walter, and Walter’s mother, Peggy Greenburg. Percy's journey represents a continuation of the spirit of adventure and resilience that defined the Gold Rush era.

The Mysterious Journal of Magnus Vega

Percy's adventure takes an intriguing turn when he discovers a journal left by the late Magnus Vega. This journal, detailing a perilous voyage into Alaska's winter wilderness, becomes the key to a new quest. It includes a cryptic map that propels Percy and his best friend, Liam, into a whirlwind search for a lost gold fortune.

A Quest Under the Shadow of Denali

"Denali" takes readers on a journey through Alaska's daunting terrains, leading to the ice caverns beneath North America's tallest peak, Denali. Here, Percy and Liam seek a tangible treasure and grapple with metaphysical mysteries, echoing the mystique and allure of Alaska’s untamed beauty.

Gangsters, Gold, and Mysteries Unfold

Their quest is fraught with dangers, from encounters with notorious gangsters to the challenges of Alaska's unforgiving environment. These elements of suspense and danger harken back to the Klondike era’s lawlessness and the enduring quest for gold.

Inspirational Echoes of Jack London

Percy's journey is guided by the wisdom of his mentor, Jack London, whose famous words, “You can’t wait for inspiration, Percy. You must go after it with a club,” encapsulate the proactive and adventurous spirit that drives the trilogy.

A Tribute to Alaskan Adventures

"Denali" concludes the Alaskan adventures of Percy Hope, offering a fitting tribute to the legacy of the Klondike Gold Rush and the enduring fascination with Alaska’s mysteries. Gordon’s narrative captures the essence of this historical period, blending adventure, personal quests, and the timeless allure of the Alaskan frontier.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page